Leading up to a Strong Finish!

It’s time to think about how we want to end the year.

Spring2016

This is always the time of year where I start to get nervous. I think about all the things I have yet to accomplish with my students and how few times I get to see them between now and June.

It’s time for me to sit down with my Scope and Sequence and figure out what goals are essential for the remaining months of the school year, which ones are desirable, and which ones are okay to miss. There are typically some rhythmic values and pitches that I haven’t yet covered with certain grade levels, so I have to be pretty strict on myself to get them in my lesson plan.

Luckily, there are some easy ways to incorporate music theory into games and fun lessons. You can hit your curricular goals while still having fun teaching. And, if you support one of the awesome teacher-authors on TpT, you can save time doing it, too!

Here are some products I’m looking forward to using this spring:

 

ABE3        ABATS3

A, B, Everywhere! …and… A, B, and Then Some!

These are worksheets I designed for my beginning recorder players. I introduce recorder in the spring of 3rd grade. I realized that many kids don’t understand the concept of note placement on the staff (and I promise, I taught it to them!). These worksheets are a great tool for teaching the concept as well as an excellent assessment tool for me. The color-coding allows me to instantly see who doesn’t understand the concept…and what they don’t understand about it. It has saved me so much time by being able to directly address each student’s individual misunderstandings.

original-2028102-1

Poke Sheets: Music Symbols

The “Poke Sheet” concept struck me one day as I was watching a class of 4th graders finish a pencil-and-paper assessment. Two students had flipped over their papers and were poking holes in the back. I was a little annoyed, but then I thought…why not let them do that on purpose?!? How cool would I be?!! (They did love it but I don’t know if it earned me any extra street cred. 😉

I currently have three different Poke Sheets. The music symbol one will be perfect for my 2nd graders, who have to demonstrate knowledge of music symbols by the spring.

original-1265814-1

MineSTAFF

This Jeopardy-style game has kids about peeing themselves with excitement when they realize they get to be on “Team Steve” or “Team Creeper” (among about ten other cool options for team names). Sara Bibee, the creator, even went so far as to create an instructional video so you don’t get stuck in front of the class, not knowing what to do. (See it here.) Bonus for teachers: You don’t have to know anything about Minecraft to be able to play the game with your students. My 3rd graders are going to love this addition to our recorder unit!

What resources do you love or want to share?

Leave a Reply

